Header Graphic
The Village P.r.o.j.e.c.t.s
Afram Global Organization Inc Welcomes You to:
Header Graphic
Activities > Registered Nurses Receive "Villager Awards"
Registered Nurses Receive "Villager Awards"
RN's Make a Difference in Many Lives!
Long Beach, CAlifornia -- Apr 18, 2014 -- The Village P.r.o.j.e.c.t.s recognizes that nurses who have walked the path to nursing leadership are often untapped sources of motivation, advice, encouragement and connections for aspiring and early career nurses. The Village P.r.o.j.e.c.t.s creates the environment in which these nurses can be connected to each other. The May 10, 2014 "Ten Year Anniversary Luncheon and Awards Gala" is a step in that direction. Among the "Villager Award Recipients" are leaders in nursing to include Dr. Betty Smith-Williams RN - Founder National Black Nurses Association, LA Black Nurses Council, and The Coalition of Ethnic Minority Nurses Association; Elcedo Bradley RN - National President, Chi Eta Phi Nursing Sorority, Barbara Napper RN- Professor Emeritus, Mount San Antonio College, and Leader in creating strategies to increase the diversity of nursing in California; Dr. Sue Reamer RN - Social Justice Advocate, Dorothy Paynes RN - one of the first three African-American Nurses to graduate from the California State University, Long Beach BSN program, and Lt. Colonel Patricia Jackson-Kelley RN (US Army Ret.)-one of the nation's leading advocates for supporting women veterans. Other nurses who will be recognized and applauded at the event includes national leaders Dr. Diedre Walton RN- President, National Black Nurses Association, Cpt Joan Craigwell (US Airforce Retired) - distinguished nursing administrator, author and nationally recognized advocate for supporting Women Viet Nam Veterans, and Mona Clayton RN, Founder/CEO of Nurses Roc 2 Publishing Company, who has made it her life's work to motivate increasing numbers of underrepresented groups to enter nursing as a career. Others nurse honorees to be applauded include distinguished early participants in the Village P.r.o.j.e.c.t.s : Dr Patricia Hinchberger RN, Dr Nnenna Weathers RN, Lawren Askew RN, Martha Young-Jones RN, Dr. Laura Inouye RN, Dr. Bonnie Kellogg RN, Joan McKinley RN, Dr Joyce Newman-Giger RN, Dr. Joyce Keith Hargrove RN, Dr. Marie Fongwa RN, Shirley Pate RN. Celebrating the end of "Nurses Week" with these dynamic leaders is expected to be motivating and encouraging to all in attendance. Email: villageprojects@aol.com and/or Visit http://www.villagerawards.brownpapertickets.com/ regarding tickets, award recipients and related information.